Nagai Koto Volume 1 Chapter 18: The demon king’s daughter and the axe kick

Previous | ToC | Next


I’ve finally started on my second project! Thanks for reading~

—————

I let uncle and auntie sleep on the bed.
They’re sleeping well, and since they don’t seem to particularly have any injuries, I’m relieved.

“I cannot find the right words to say for this occasion. I truly thank you.” (Ruuga)
“You saved me. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart.” (Ura)

Ruuga is calming down in the living room, and Ura was somehow restored to life.
For the time being, I’m relieved that there doesn’t seem to be a development like ‘you saved us, but we will kill you.’

“Boy, what is your name?” (Ura)
“It’s Velt. Rather, you call me boy, but aren’t you about the same age as well?” (Velt)
“Mu, nn, well, that is true, but…” (Ura)
“By the way, how old are you? You’re not actually ten thousand years old or something, right?” (Velt)
“Don’t be absurd. Only ten years have passed since I was born. You don’t really believe in the superstition that demons have perpetual youth, right?.” (Ura)
“Aah, so you’re the same age as me huh. I’m ten years old too.” (Velt)

Looking at Ura kinda reminds me of Forna.
She’s arrogant and she acts mature for her age, even though she’s just a brat.
However, the biggest part of is it that they both have this aura, or rather, this dignity drifting around them. It feels as she’s from another world, and I don’t mean that just because she’s a demon.
Probably because of her harsh journey until now, her silky hair isn’t in order. Her damaged armour and clothes are all worn out as well.
However, even so, something I sense in Ura herself was not something to be harmed.

“Hahaha. I see, so Velt-dono is the same age as Ura-sama. With that age, having the courage to face a demon like me and be compassionate is admirable.” (Ruuga)
“It kinda makes me guilty to hear you say that. I mean, I was originally planning to abandon you guys.” (Velt)
“Even so, you saved us, did you not?” (Ruuga)
“In exchange for your arm, though.” (Velt)
“That is cheap, compared to what you have done for us.” (Ruuga)

He really is noble. In the past, I thought these types of people were straight-laced, or show-offs, but now I just think he’s cool.
And then, there’s Ura, who a man like that would risk his life for.
I’m interested in who they are now.

“So, who are you guys? Which national army of the demon king are you part of?” (Velt)
“Ah, that reminds me, I still hadn’t given you my name. My name is Ruuga. I am a soldier of the 『Vesparda Demon Kingdom Army』that is lead by『Sharkryu』-sama, one of the『Seven Great Demon Kings』, and I am currently serving as the captain of princess Ura’s elite guards.” (Ruuga)
“And, I am Ura. Ura Vesparda. The daughter of Sharkryu, who is one of the seven great demon kings, and the princess of Vesparda demon king’s nation.” (Ura)
“Like, I feel like I’ve heard about Vesparda from somewhere, hm? Sharkryu?” (Velt)

I toppled over with the chair.
I had heard those words quite recently from Farga.

“Wait, aren’t you guys the ones that destroyed the Bolbaldie Kingdom!?” (Velt)
“Yeah.” (Ruuga)
“Wai-, wait, you’re the daughter of one of the se se se, seven great demon kings? Yo-, you’re a demon king’s daughter?” (Velt)

Well, I strangely accepted that fact. I certainly heard that the demon king’s army is approaching.
Consider how Ura is actually the demon king’s daughter, it makes sense why I sensed something in Ura, and it also explains Ruuga’s loyalty.
But still, for the person I coincidentally saved to be the demon king’s daughter, haven’t I done quite an awful thing?

“Like, crap, eh, what? You guys better not have come to destroy this country! Like, how did you slip through the national border!” (Velt)

Although I saved them, depending on their objective, it could be a completely different matter.
Since I saved their lives out of my half-hearted whim, this country might get destroyed by them.
With that thought, hostility naturally came out from the innermost depths of my heart, but Ruuga and Ura flusteredly calmed me down.

“Wait, we certainly destroyed the Bolbaldie Kingdom, and I admit that. However, we don’t intend on invading or attacking this country. On the contrary, we no longer have any power to do so!” (Ura)
“I apologize, Velt-dono. We will have to first talk about ourselves.” (Ruuga)

No longer have any power? I don’t know what she means by that, but Ura’s expression as she said that was awfully dark.

“First of all, under demon king Sharkryu-sama’s orders, we fought against Bolbaldie and destroyed it. We also killed a countless number of humans, like you. Of course, we protected the ones that surrendered and the citizens that couldn’t fight, but… no, that is just an excuse.” (Ruuga)

Destroyed. I heard them clearly, but it didn’t click for me.
Destroying a country is too big of an incident that I can’t even imagine it.
No, I don’t even want to imagine it. I become scared by just thinking about if this country where Forna, sensei and everyone is in disappeared.
Ruuga seems like he’s being considerate of me, but that consideration kinda hurt as well.

“Well, it’s fine. I don’t have any people I know in that country anyway.” (Velt)
“Hmm? You are surprisingly optimistic. I was sure you were going to speak ill of murder.” (Ura)
“Ahh? Even if I say something like that, you’re probably going to say some random stuff about what war is. I’m not interested in that. As long as there’s no danger to the people I know, though. Anyway, keep talking, let me hear the rest.” (Velt)

Getting angry or flustered over each thing is kinda wrong, I think.
That’s why I could only behave like I don’t mind it.

“I see. The continuation, umu, after destroying the Bolbaldie Kingdom, we, the Vesparda demon kingdom’s army, advanced to the empire. However, we were defeated by『Humanity’s Great Allied Forces 』and the『Hero』, so we took to our heels.” (Ruuga)
“What? Oh, I thought the hero defeated an amazing demi-human general, but he also defeated the demon king, huh? He really is a good kid~.” (Velt)
“I won’t deny that we lost. The hero was strong. I didn’t think there would be a human that could exchange a fight to the death with demon king-sama.” (Ruuga)

While saying that, Ruuga and Ura both looked frustrated. Well yeah, the man he serves, and the man who’s her father was defeated. Their feelings of not being able to just recognise the opponent are understandable.

“So, did the demon king die?” (Velt)
“No, just before he was about to be killed, resolving ourselves for dishonour, we took Sharkryu-sama out of the one-to-one fight and retreated straight after that. Their pursuit was intense as well, and many of our comrades were killed, but we somehow protected demon king-sama. However, we were separated midway and I was the only one that remained of Ura-sama’s elite guards.” (Ruuga)
“Hm~m, so you kept running away like that, and when you realized it, you were starving, all the way in this remote region. That must have been quite the trouble.” (Velt)

I see, so that’s what happened.
When Farga said the demon king is heading to this country’s direction, he meant the demon king that took to his heels is escaping this way.

“I-, I wasn’t able to do anything!” (Ura)

As soon as I finished talking, Ura frustratedly struck the floor.

“Although I forcefully made my father let me travel with him for the time when I can someday lead the soldiers, when my fellow countrymen and my elite guards were defeated in front of my eyes, when everyone lost their lives in pain, I couldn’t do anything!” (Ura)
“Ura-sama…” (Ruuga)
“What a princess! I followed him by saying such impertinent things like, ‘I want to learn the atmosphere of the battlefield’, and yet, I!” (Ura)

Vexation. Rather than from losing to a human, it looked like it was from the frustration at her own powerlessness.
For some reason, that appearance overlapped with mine when my old man and mum died.

“I apologize, Velt-dono. It was Ura-sama’s first battle. She obviously didn’t fight, nor did she murder anyone. However, she was made to experience the overwhelming air of death, despair, and many seas of blood, mixed with red and blue. Our close friends that continued protecting the princess from when she was very young with me, died in action as well.” (Ruuga)

To be frank, it’s just troublesome to see her cry. Even if a demon that came to kill humans lost to a human and cried, as a human, I can’t do anything, and I have no words to say to her.
I don’t know anything about war either.

“There’s nothing I can say.” (Velt)
“Velt-dono?” (Ruuga)
“Anyways, the point is. My volunteering ends here. You guys should leave before uncle and auntie wake up. And, you better not come to the Elfarshia Kingdom.” (Velt)

Don’t be moved by them. Don’t have anything to do with them. Right now, there’s nothing I can do, and Ruuga and Ura understood that much.
They simply nodded silently.

“That certainly is true. Sorry. Nothing would happen if I just complain to you.” (Ura)
“Sorry ‘bout that. I’m bad at lecturing people and giving kind words. I’m not that much of a good human either.” (Velt)
“Fu-, you’re interesting. In the end, although I was able to see the hero, I did not actually talk to him. Therefore, this is my first time I have talked with a human of the same age as me.” (Ura)
“Ooh, is that so. Well, I didn’t think the first demon woman I talk with since I was born would be the demon king’s daughter.” (Velt)

There’s nothing more to talk about, and it’s better for both of us if we don’t do anything unnecessary.
No matter what we talk about here, or what impression we have of each other, it doesn’t change the fact that I’m human and that these guys are demons.

“Lastly, as thanks, have this ring.” (Ura)

Ura takes off a ring from her pinky finger.
A jewel that had a beautiful, emerald green shine was set in it.

“This is a ring made from a scale taken off one of the world’s three great jewel dragons, the Emerald Dragon. If you sell it in the human world, you will never be troubled for money in your whole life.” (Ura)
“Eh! Se-, seriously? Are you giving me such a stupidly expensive thing?” (Velt)
“Yeah.” (Ura)

Ooh, I got an unexpected bonus. Is she a billionaire or something?
Noticing that my serious thoughts were overcome by worldly-minded thoughts immediately, I felt a bit pathetic.
Well, there shouldn’t be any problems to take it if she’s giving it to me.
But, taking this would also mean I’m indicating something.

“I see. So if you’re giving this to me, that basically means…………. we’re even, right?” (Velt)

The next time we meet, it will be as a human and a demon…………… that’s what it means.
Ura must have been thinking that too, but she probably didn’t think I would ask that as she has a slightly complicated expression.
It might have been a mean question to ask a ten-year-old brat, but even so, it’s necessary for me to confirm it.
Then, as if to calm the awkward atmosphere, Ruuga, who had been silent, forced his way through.

“Leaving that aside, you seem to be using an interesting weapon, Velt-dono. That is a demi-human’s teacher cane, right?” (Ruuga)

It’s obvious that he’s purposely speaking with a cheerful voice, but it’s fine.

“Yeah, I’m a strange guy after all.” (Velt)

I already know the answer without asking Ura. That’s why I won’t ask any more than this.

“That’s right. I remember now from you saying strange. It was an emergency earlier, so I let it pass, but……………” (Ruuga)
“Ann?” (Velt)
“About that way of kicking when you kicked my head……………” (Ruuga)
“Ahh? Are you talking about my axe kick when I kicked you while you were kneeling on the ground?” (Velt)

What is it? Did it actually hurt? However, from my words, Ruuga and Ura make surprised faces.

“Axe kick? That’s surprising. I thought your kicking style was the same by coincidence, but do you know of the axe kick?” (Ruuga)
“Haa? I know about it, but it’s not a special kicking style.” (Velt)

No, it might be unusual in this world where they fight with weapons and magic. When I was Asakura Ryuuma, it was even famous for people that didn’t do karate.

“No, it is a special kicking style. That was was our demon king’s, Sharkryu-sama’s special move.” (Ruuga)
“Kuhahaha, you serious?  Something like a demon king doing an axe kick, is this a joke? It would be funny if he did karate as well.” (Velt)

That’s kinda interesting.
I don’t know the demon king’s fighting style at all, but I thought he would have some kind of technique where he causes a natural disaster with some powerful magic, or have some demon king sword that has ridiculous destructive power, but for it to be an axe kick, this must be a joke.

“! Impossible! Why does Velt-dono know demon king-sama’s secret fist, karaate!” (Ruuga)

Eh?

“Father was famous for only using martial arts in the whole demon nation. Why do you, a human, know the name of the unique martial arts, karaate, which father invented, and can only be used by him?” (Ura)

The atmosphere changed.

“Demon king-sama only told the name of karaate to a very few number of people. Velt-dono, excuse me, but where exactly did you hear that name?” (Ruuga)

My mind started spinning round and round.
The reason I know karate is simple.
It’s because karate is a martial art in Asakura Ryuuma’s world.
For this reason, I wanted to ask a question in return. Why does the demon king know about karate, and can he can use it.
Right now, I made various hypotheses. But, would something like that really be possible?

“Ura, did your father invent karate? He didn’t learn it from someone else, right?” (Velt)
“No, he didn’t learn it from someone. Besides, only the very few people who had talent know of karaate, and learnt those techniques from father. I am one of them though.” (Ura)

The demon king can use karate? He knows about it? Why?
No, if the demon king really is the only one that can use karate, I can only think of one answer.
But, would such an unbelievable thing……………

“Oi, the demon king is alive, right? Where is he, right now?” (Velt)
“That is…………… what will you do from knowing that? Are you going to tell the allied forces about it?” (Velt)
“I might be an old acquaintance of that demon king.” (Velt)

I can’t just leave without checking.
I’m fully aware that it’s dangerous.
Sensei told me to not be so fixated with Asakura Ryuuma, but even so, I had to make sure of it no matter what.

“That reminds me, there was a person in Asakura Ryuuma’s class who was in the karate club.” (Velt)

I couldn’t help but remember the past.


Previous | ToC | Next

18 thoughts on “Nagai Koto Volume 1 Chapter 18: The demon king’s daughter and the axe kick

  1. .
     ∧__∧
    ( ´・ω・`)  (○) Thanks….
    ,( ヽ∩∩ノ),、ヽ|〃,,, Nepu……..
    “““ ““ ““ ““ ““ ““ ““ ““““ ““

    Like

  2. please, please continue the translation…if u had an add in this site i’ll click them everyday..demon king sama..please

    Like

    1. I’m not demon king sama lol. Well anyways, I’m going to continue this translation, but this is a free site, so I don’t have any adds to earn money off of~

      Like

  3. Thanks!!∧∧
    Nepu━(´•ω•` )━━!!
        /   ヽ
       / 人   \\
     ⊂ノ )   ヽ⊃
        / 人 (
       (_ノ (__)
    Thanks for picking this up! Velt has returned!

    Like

  4. Heyooo, I’m back~ (don’t know if you remember me or not) rl stuff got in the way.

    Damn man, kudos to you, keep up the great work o/

    Like

  5. Thank you thank you so much!

    I’ve trying to schooch in Japanese in between my studies just to continue reading this. It never end well!

    You’re a yuusha!!

    Like

    1. There’s still around 250 chapters of this main story left, and that’s going to take me an insanely long time, so I can’t make any promises. I might have even stopped translating at that point in time, but well, if I haven’t, I probably will translate the sequel.

      Like

  6. I almost dropped this series before I gave it a shot. My inner weeb didn’t and maybe still doesn’t like the MC he’s sorta a arrogant/dullard quits elementary school and has little common sense of the world and they barely touched magic.. still…quits before he tries sometimes…only asked 1 question about element affinity which left me with loads a question about affinity and what if’s in this new adventure world. ..I almost dropped it again in another part soon as they said demi-humans and demons are at war against humanity..”I was like but I like those interesting other races.” but kept reading and now I’m like okay okay its not so bad. With the current stuff going on its making me wonder where its going so cheers. ..and see ya on the other side…my adding this to my list unless something tilts me to no end. Thanks for picking this up and continuing translation.

    Like

Leave a comment